A Short Documentary ft. Mason Chapello

A Short Documentary featuring Mason Chapello: A closer look at Masons love and passion for multiple art forms such as dance, singing, and writing music.

When I was told that my next assignment was to create a documentary, I had no idea who or what I wanted it to be about. So I sat down and started to think about all of my likes or interests. One of the first thoughts that came to mind was my love for singing. I love to sing anytime, anywhere. However, I happen to be one of the absolute worst singers on the planet; I barely even sound half way decent in the shower.

When I arrived at The Ohio State University, Mason Chapello was one of the first people I met. It didn’t take long for me to realize his love for music because whenever he wasn’t dancing, laughing, or telling funny stories, he was most likely singing. However, the only difference between mine and Mason’s love for music was the fact that he happened to be extremely talented when it came to the art of singing. This is when I asked Mason if he would gladly be the start of my film and express how he came to love, why he loves, and how he intends to use his love for music in the future.

I am very happy with the way my documentary turned out. I felt that because I chose to create a documentary on something that both my collaborator and I are so passionate about, this made the process much more easy and fun. One thing in particular that I did struggle with when editing my documentary was making sure that the sound of Mason speaking was the same volume as the music that played throughout the film. Other than that, I really enjoyed this process and collaborating with such a close friend. Be sure to follow him on Soundcloud @masonchapello .